Blue Beetle

🤖 DC's Spiderman

I have mixed feelings about this one.

It was a little better than I was expecting, but in all honesty I was prepared for a crappy movie so exceeding my expectations wasn't exactly hard.

The core idea of the movie was good, I could sum it up saying : "Spiderman with more family". 🕸️

It's similarities with Marvel's arachnid are a lot, and if done properly, copying it's also an art.

Unfortunately for us it came out pretty bad.

We (of course) have a super smart and evil villain (which is a woman this time 🧐) that acts like a three year old... That includes her main thug that represents the physical match for Blue Beetle.

It's a real shame, Susan Sarandon it's a GREAT actress. Here she could have been easily replaced by someone far less talented and cheaper like Elizabeth Banks.🤣

Our superhero movie is a little ruined, especially in the second half, by the unexplained need of the director to inculcate in our brain that family is the most important thing in the world.

Reminds me of another awful movie... 🚗

That message was delivered well enough in the first half and after a while it just started to feel almost comical.

The Grandma is by far the cringiest character of the entire DCEU, I dare you to find someone who beats her.

The central part of the script seemed added in post, it honestly feels like they had the beginning and final act of it and putted together, in 10 minutes or so, the central part of it.

Usual plot hole and inconsistencies, this time sprinkled with some half decent jokes, have to admit they caught me off guard this time. Kudos to that. 💪

Last good thing that needs to be mentioned is the cool af CGI especially in the beetle suit, it felt almost like the iron man nanotech suit, just a lot better. 💯

I've heard rumors about the fact that the actors contract was for two movies, so I guess we'll have a sequel probably in 2025. I really hope they nail that one.

It's an easy movie to recommend if you don't care too much about movies. You get me? 🤣

How Would I Fix It ?

  • Ok… let’s start by toning way down the family in the second part of the movie.🙄

  • Let’s also give the villain a brain (as usual), and give her henchman a little more lines to help us understand his backstory a little earlier. 😐

  • Cut some awful jokes and keep the good ones. 😁

Vote: 5/10

That’s kinda too soft 😆👇

What i’m currently watching : 

  • Warrior S3 👊💯 Ep 10

  • Captain Fall 🚢🤥 

To Subscribe to this newsletter click 👇

If you follow me on twitter feel free to let me know your vote on this movie.😁

If you don’t, click 👇

Thank you for reading 🙏

If you have any suggestions or critic feel free to reply😁

Next week I'll watch “Oppenheimer”

Have a great week✌️

Nicolò