• FilmNotes
  • Posts
  • Dungeons & Dragons Honor Among Thieves

Dungeons & Dragons Honor Among Thieves

🎲Proven formula = good results


 

Doesn't happen often, me being so wrong about a movie.
 
Refreshing.

Makes me like this hobby of mine even more.👍
 
What a pleasant surprise.
 
I didn't expect much getting into the movie theater, i was prepared for a badly written, poorly directed and well financed disaster. Apart from some convenient plot fixes and a forgettable villain, there aren't really much bad things to say about this simple, yet interesting, D&D adventure.
 
It doesn't take itself too seriously, and that keeps it light and fun. It has cool characters. The squad was composed by: the leader Chris Pine(the mind), co-leader Michelle Rodriguez (the muscles), Justice Smith (the sorcerer) and Sophia Lillis (the druid).
 
And together they form a team tasked with saving Chris's daughter and overthrowing Hugh Grant, a greedy and despicable lord.
 
Good CGI helps to immerse you in this fantasy world.
 
I didn’t find disturbing that the females in the team were the more capable fighters and the males were more strategy and magic oriented.
The directors played the female empowerment card in a smart way. Kudos to that.
 
The (obvious) redemptive path of this thief gang, left me with a feeling that reminded me of guardians of the Galaxy. I mean it in the best possible way
 
I strongly suggest this film to every D&D and fantasy fan.

This is me being wrong 👇

Vote: 6.5/10
 

Thank you for reading,🙏
if you have any suggetions or critic feel free to reply to this mail.😁

Next week i'll watch // Published Originally 31/03/2023 //

Have a great week✌

Nicolò