May December

❓Out of my league

The subtitle is just a funny (hopefully) way of saying that maybe I'm not intelligent enough to fully grasp the depth of this picture...

But, for the review's sake, let's say I've picked up on everything that the movie had to offer.

It tells a weird and almost dark story about a woman that starts an affair and later carries on a relationship with a 13 year old boy.😱

Natalie Portman is an actress interested in making a movie out of this scandal.

We are presented with clearly unstable and broken characters, that despite, what I can only assume to be, every effort from the director fails miserably to keep the interest in the story up during its 110 minutes runtime.

Boring isn't the right word to describe it but it's close enough to get my point through.

Nothing important really happens, however the soundtrack feels almost like The Shining.😂

I mean, it's misleading at best.

Moore, Portman and Melton pulled off fantastic performances.

So the problem here lies in the script.

It lacks some salt, of course you can argue that this movie is a critically acclaimed subtle thriller so I just have to shut up and start reviewing cartoons.😂

So my advice is to go and watch it and see for yourself if you get what I'm ranting about here.😅

How Would I Fix It ?

  • As previously stated, we need salt, at least a little bit. The best way to introduce it is to make our protagonist willing to destroy the family in order to see more clearly and in doing so we could get a serious confrontation between her and Julianne Moore. That should spice things up quite a bit.

Vote: 5.5/10

What i’m currently watching : 

  • Invincible S2 🦸‍♂️👊(Part 2 finally)

To Subscribe to this newsletter click 👇

If you follow me on twitter feel free to let me know your vote on this movie.😁

If you don’t, click 👇

Thank you for reading 🙏

If you have any suggestions or critic feel free to reply. 😁

Next week I'll watch “Roadhouse”

Have a great week✌️

Nicolò