Monkey Man

๐Ÿ˜‰ Indian Wick

I have a soft spot for Dev Patel, I've always liked him in every role I found him in.

Needless to say I was rooting for this movie right from the beginning as this is his first experience as a director.๐Ÿ‘

Backed by Jordan Peele nonetheless...๐Ÿ’ฏ

And after this preamble, I am excited to say that the movie is really good.๐Ÿ˜

Let's say, always avoiding spoilers, that every fight scene is scraping John Wick's levels of choreography and style.

Patel's inspiration from it is palpable but in a good way.

The script is pretty solid and the cast, to my knowledge, is definitely on point.

Superb soundtrack, I cannot stress it enough, every song/track/musical sound was perfect for the scene it was in. They managed to cram together every possible music genre (except for country) in this picture. ๐Ÿ”ฅ

The villains were decent enough to make us root for our hero, however I have some problems with the "training to get stronger" scenes and the weird transgendery turn the movie took at a certain point.

However it all worked fine in the end.

So, would I encourage you to watch it?

Hell yeah, especially if you liked John Wick's franchise.

Great job Dev.๐Ÿ‘

How Would I Fix It ?

  • As previously mentioned, I would explore the villain to make him a little bit more "human" and at the very least get his perspective on the political problems in the movie.

  • Definitely work on the training scenes to make them impactful and justify as much as possible his level-up.

Vote: 7,5/10

What iโ€™m currently watching : 

  • Invincible S2 ๐Ÿฆธโ€โ™‚๏ธ๐Ÿ‘Š(part 2)

To Subscribe to this newsletter click ๐Ÿ‘‡

If you follow me on twitter feel free to let me know your vote on this movie.๐Ÿ˜

If you donโ€™t, click ๐Ÿ‘‡

Thank you for reading ๐Ÿ™

If you have any suggestions or critic feel free to reply. ๐Ÿ˜

Next week I'll watch โ€œWhat Happens Laterโ€

Have a great weekโœŒ๏ธ

Nicolรฒ