The Bikeriders

🤔Hardly Hardy

I wasn't expecting a masterpiece but I wasn't expecting a boring story either...

To be fair the script was a dumpster fire that only Guy Ritchie might've been able to make interesting.

Hardy's performance is really good and it's always nice to see him on screen, however I can't shake off the Alfie Solomons' vibe...🤣

Back to the script, the problem here is the storytelling. We are presented the story from a third person point of view. Essentially we follow an interviewer who stays with the club for a while and later reconnects with Kathy (Jodie Comer) to finish the story.

This doesn't translate well in engagement from the audience, it adds a level of detachment to it that it's hard not to feel.

Austin Butler's character was the one I found the hardest to care about, he felt a little off...😅

In summary, good acting by the lead (I know it's probably Kathy but Hardy steals the screen every time), pretty uninteresting story and a badly calibrated script.

There's also a general lack of care for the motorcycle side of it, there were a lot of enthusiasts in the theater and I noticed they also were a little let down.

So I wouldn't necessarily recommend it to anyone aside from Tom Hardy die hard fans.

How Would I Fix It ?

  • Scratch the whole idea of the interviewer altogether and start the story from Kathy's perspective, switching to Hardy and Butler whenever it's convenient.

  • Talk a little bit more about the actual bikes as it's an essential part of the club.

Vote: 4/10

What i’m currently working on : 

To Subscribe to this newsletter click 👇

If you follow me on twitter feel free to let me know your vote on this movie.😁

If you don’t, click 👇

Thank you for reading 🙏

If you have any suggestions or critic feel free to reply. 😁

Next week I'll watch 

Don’t worry i’ll come up with something, as usual 😉

Have a great week✌️

Nicolò